Marek Napiórkowski “NAP”

Universal Music Polska, 2005

The first solo album by Marek Napiórkowski, Nap, features the biggest names of Polish jazz scene, such as Anna Maria Jopek, Leszek Możdżer, Henryk Miśkiewicz, Dorota Miśkiewicz, Robert Luty and Krzysztof Herdzin. They helped making this album as exquisite as it is. While having a huge potential for commercial success, it remains original and is based firmly on jazz grounds. There are moments that bring back 70’s electric jazz – Weather Report or Return To Forever mood lingers on, and you can clearly hear its open-mindedness. But there is also personal, characteristic style of Napiórkowski. It is important as it proves his worth as a musician and a composer. Wary listener will also notice the perfect balance allowing for strong, funky riffs, as well as wonderful ballads with space for acoustic instruments, grand piano parts by Leszek Możdżer and Krzysztof Herdzin, and the amazing voices of Anna Maria Jopek and Dorota Miśkiewicz. The album was co-produced by Marek and the bass player you can hear on the whole record, Robert Kubiszyn. Nap will surprise the cynics and will be the treat for the fans. It is an essence of guitar jazz.
(Universal Music Polska)

Marek Napiórkowski feat. Leszek Możdżer – Unspoken



Marek Napiórkowski – guitar
Anna Maria Jopek – vocal (9)
Leszek Możdżer – grand piano (5, 6, 10)
Henryk Miśkiewicz – sax, bass clarinet (4)
Dorota Miśkiewicz – voice (2, 4)
Robert Kubiszyn – bass, double bass
Robert Luty – drums, percussion
Krzysztof Herdzin – grand piano (9)
Piotr Wyleżoł – Rhodes piano
Tomasz Kałwak – keyboards, “sound creator”, solo (3)
Kuba Badach – shout (8)


1. Levitation
2. Proxima Parada
3. Wciąż się śnisz (Still in My Dreams)
4. Vicious Desire
5. Niedopowiedziane (Unspoken)
6. In Between
7. NAP
8. Twist or Blues?
9. Only a Night Away
10. NAP (Reprise)

Release year: 2005
Publisher: Universal Music Polska
Catalogue No.: 9872147

composed by: Marek Napiórkowski, except for Only a Night Away (music: Anna Maria Jopek and Marek Napiórkowski, lyrics: Nina Madhoo)
produced by Marek Napiórkowski and Robert Kubiszyn / Universal Music Polska
recording (april 2004): Rysio Szmit (Prostudio Olsztyn), Wojtek Przybylski (S-4 Warszawa) and Piotr Radziszewski (assistant)
additional recording: Marcin Gajko (S-4 Warszawa), Paweł Zarecki (Pueblo People Studios) i Marcin Górny (Studio Chróst Sulejówek)
mixing and mastering: Leszek Kamiński
edition: Robert Kubiszyn